How many GCSEs is a BTEC first certificate worth

The qualifications are fully recognised as holding equivalences to GCSEs. For example, a Level 2 BTEC First Diploma is worth the equivalent of 4 GCSEs grade A*-C. This means a student can do a Level 2 BTEC First independently alongside GCSEs, or work towards them both in the same subject area.

How many GCSEs does a BTEC count for?

Btecs are very flexible. They can be studied at various levels, each of which equates to a different qualification: Btec Level 1 and 2 = equivalent to GCSEs.

What is a BTEC Level 1 pass equivalent to in GCSE?

If you are taking a BTEC First then you can get a Level 1 Pass, this is equal to a grade 1 or G at GCSE level.

What is a BTEC first certificate equivalent to?

The BTEC First Diploma is a vocational qualification at Level 2. It is the equivalent of 4 GCSE grades A*-C. The course is available from Edexcel and is in many different subjects.

What are BTEC grades equivalent to in GCSE?

However, Pearson advises that BTec Tech Awards, which cover Level 1 and 2, are equivalent to GCSE grades A to E under the traditional grading system, while Level 2 BTec Firsts are comparable to grades A* to C in old money.

How does BTEC compared to GCSE?

Level 2 BTecs, including BTec Firsts, are equivalent to GCSEs and are most commonly taken by people aged 14 to 16. Level 1 and 2 BTEC Tech Awards are equivalent to GCSE grades A to E, according to exam board Pearson. Level 2 BTec Firsts are roughly the same as GCSE Grades A* to C.

Is a BTEC as good as a GCSE?

BTECs at levels 1 and 2 are equivalent to GCSEs, with levels 4 to 7 holding the same status of achievement as a degree.

How much is BTEC worth?

The type of award, and the grades for each unit, with dictate how many UCAS points a BTEC is worth, with a Level 3 Subsidiary Diploma Pass worth 40 UCAS points (equivalent to an A level grade E), and a Level 3 Extended Diploma with triple Distinction* being typically worth 420 points (equivalent to three grade ‘A*’ A …

How many credits is GCSE worth?

Given the typical credit value of one GCSE-equivalent on an Access to HE course (approximately 12 credits at level 2), it is unlikely that more than one GCSE-equivalent can be wholly accommodated within the Access to HE Diploma specification (60 credits, with at least 45 of these at level 3) without the use of …

How many GCSEs equal an A level?

You normally need: at least five GCSEs at grades 9 to 4/A* to C. at least grade 6 in the specific subject(s) you want to study.

Article first time published on

What is a Level 1 pass in GCSE?

Level 1 Pass (L1P) Just above a GCSE grade G or equivalent to GCSE grade F.

Is BTEC easier than A levels?

Is a BTEC easier than A levels? Don’t choose a BTEC expecting an easy life. The top grade – D* – is treated as equivalent to an A* at A level and the bottom grade – P – is equivalent to an E (a pass at A level). You’ll also have to work very steadily throughout your course due to the continuous assessment methods.

What is a good BTEC grade?

Points range above pass gradeGrade230-249Merit (M)250-259Distinction (D)260 and aboveDistinction* (D*)

What does 2 * mean in BTEC?

Pass at Level 2. Merit at Level 2. Distinction at Level 2. Distinction* at Level 2.

Is a merit good in BTEC?

BTEC gradeSuggested pointsSuggested equivalence to A-LevelStarred distinction38Between B and CDistinction32CMerit24DPass16E

What is BTEC national certificate equivalent to?

A BTEC National Award is equivalent to one GCE A Level (or two AS Levels), a BTEC National Certificate to two GCE A levels and a BTEC National Diploma to three GCE A Levels. Actual tariff points are determined by the overall grade.

Is BTEC bad compared to GCSE?

BTEC are referred to as vocational qualifications while GCSE are referred to as academic qualifications. They are not a bad option,but GCSEs are much preferred by universities and colleges. GCSES are level 2 qualifications.

Is BTEC harder than GCSE?

BTEC levels one to three are supposed to be equivalent to GCSEs and A-levels. But life is far harder for BTEC students. … A-level students can study three or four different courses and even if they miss out on the highest grades they can still get into university.

What is better GCSE PE or BTEC PE?

GCSE PE has a higher percentage of exams, whereas BTEC has more coursework. For the practical sport, BTEC is more about participating in your two sports and assessing your performance, whereas GCSE is purely about being marked on how effective you are at those sports. What are the grades in BTEC?

Are Btecs just as good as A-levels?

They’re less academic than A-levels, providing a more practical and hands-on way of learning, and you can choose from over 2,000 Btecs across 16 sectors. Btecs are an increasingly popular alternative to A-levels, although you can also take Btecs at all sorts of levels, including the equivalent to GCSEs and degrees.

How many GCSEs do you get for each subject?

The vast majority of students will study 9 GCSEs. They will be awarded five GCSEs in the core subjects – English Language, English Literature, Maths, Science (2 GCSEs)- and they will then supplement that with the 4 GCSEs they will be awarded in their 4 option subjects.

How much is a GCSE grade worth?

Each higher grade in a maths GCSE is worth an extra £14,579 over a lifetime while a higher grade in music is worth just £5,453. Meanwhile, one grade higher in for English literature will lead to £6,504 more; £8,151 for drama; and £11,319 for history.

How many GCSEs do you get for science?

It’s sometimes called Triple Award Science or Separate Sciences, and you receive three GCSEs for each science at the end. The course content obviously differs across different scientific subjects.

How is BTEC graded?

BTEC First learners receive a grade for each individual unit (Distinction, Merit, Pass, or Unclassified). All internally assessed unit grades are subject to quality assurance. This ensures that learners get the grades they deserve and all centres assess every BTEC assignment to the highest standard.

What is BTEC certificate?

BTEC stands for the Business and Technology Education Council. BTECs are specialist work-related qualifications. They combine practical learning with subject and theory content.

Do you get UCAS points for GCSE?

GCSE grades are not worth any UCAS points. And UCAS points do not affect GCSE grades.

What is the equivalent of GCSE in UK?

Functional skills level 2 maths and English are considered to be the closest equivalents to GCSE’s and nearly all universities and higher education providers accept these as do most employers.

What is a GCSE 7 equivalent to?

Grade 7 is the equivalent of a grade A. Grade 6 is the equivalent of just above a grade B. Grade 5 is the equivalent of in between grades B and C. Grade 4 is the equivalent of a grade C.

What do the 1/9 GCSE grades mean?

The 9-1 grading scheme has been brought in alongside a new GCSE curriculum in England. The highest grade is 9, while 1 is the lowest, not including a U (ungraded). … Exams watchdog Ofqual says fewer grade 9s are awarded than A*s, and that anyone who gets a 9 has “performed exceptionally”.

What percentage is a 1 in GCSE?

Treating 10 per cent as the highest feasible mark for Ungraded as usually at present and dividing 11 to 55 marks in three equal mark-ranges of 15, grade 1 would require 11 – 25 per cent, grade 2 = 26 – 40 per cent and grade 3 = 41 – 55 per cent.

Is 3 a pass in GCSE?

Is grade 3 a pass? For a ‘standard pass’, equivalent to the old C grade, students will need to achieve a 4 grade, while a 5 will constitute a ‘strong pass’. Overall grades 4,5 and 6 will be equivalent to grades B and C in the old grading system.